Majjhima Nikaya

The Majjhima Nikaya, or Middle Length Discourses, is a division of the Sutta Pitaka. They are discourses that are… well… of a middling length. There are 152 discourses contained within this division, either by the Buddha himself or from some of his chief disciples. The Suttas contained within this body of teaching touch upon all aspects of the Buddha’s path and an excellent edition of the Majjhima Nikaya is in print, translated by the notable Bhikkhu Bodhi and Bhikkhu Ñanamoli.

The book can be purchased from Wisdom Publications, and is also available on Amazon.

Suttas from the Majjhima Nikaya that are available on this site are listed below in numerical order.

MN 9: Sammaditthi Sutta: The Discourse on Right View

MN 10: Satipatthana Sutta: Frames of Reference: or The Discourse on Mindfulness Meditation

MN 26: Ariyapariyesana Sutta: The Noble Search

MN 36: Mahāsacca­kasutta: The Greater Discourse to Saccaka

MN 141: Saccavibhanga Sutta: Discourse on The Analysis of the Truths

May all beings live in peace.